Kern, Coleman lead 7-person search committee for IDS, Arbutus publisher

Dec. 18, 2017

A seven-person committee led by former Chicago Tribune editor Gerould Kern, BA’71, and professor of practice Joseph Coleman will search for and select the Indiana Daily Student newspaper and Arbutus yearbook’s next publisher.

The publisher will oversee the operations of the IDS and Arbutus, including the brands’ digital platforms and special publications.

The full committee includes:

Gerould Kern, BA’71, former editor of the Chicago Tribune, co-chair

As executive vice president and editor of the Chicago Tribune, Gerould Kern led the newspaper into the digital age. He preserved the Tribune’s legacy of investigative reporting while developing new digital tools to reach audiences.

Kern graduated from IU with a degree in journalism and graduate work in radio and television. He received the Distinguished Alumni Award in Journalism from IU in 2012 and is a founding member of The Media School Dean’s Advisory Board.

Joseph Coleman, Media School professor of practice, co-chair

Joseph Coleman came to IU in 2009 after a 20-year reporting career covering Latin America, Europe and Asia, where he spent many years writing about Japan and neighboring countries for the Associated Press. His specialties at The Media School are newswriting and international reporting, and he leads classes to Japan to report on the enduring legacy of World War II and Asia-Pacific security.

Emily Abshire, student, IDS, WIUX

Emily Abshire is a junior studying journalism. She has worked for the IDS her entire college career, doing mostly design and web editing. She has had marketing and communications internships with companies SubTV in London and the Center for the Performing Arts in Carmel, Indiana. She has her own radio show on WIUX, where she is also the art director. She is an Ernie Pyle Scholar.

D’Angelo King, student, WIUX, National Association of Black Journalists, IU Student Association

D’Angelo King is a senior studying journalism and political science. He has aspirations to work in the media industry or politics. He serves as news director for WIUX, treasurer of the National Association of Black Journalists and chief of communications and marketing for the IU Student Association. This summer, he’ll be teaching at the Monroe County Community School Corporation as well as working as building manager for the Indiana Memorial Union.

Anne Ryder, Media School senior lecturer

Anne Ryder spent more than 30 years in television news. She was inducted into the Indiana Broadcast Hall of Fame in 2010. She has worked as a producer, reporter and anchor in Lafayette (WLFI-CBS), Terre Haute (WTHI-CBS) and Indianapolis (WTHR-NBC). While at WTHR, she anchored all four weeknight shows. Indianapolis-born and raised, she is a graduate of the University of Missouri-Columbia School of Journalism. She holds honorary doctorates from three universities and has been teaching at IU since 2014.

Sarah Verschoor, student, IDS

Sarah Verschoor is a sophomore from Lake County, Illinois. She is majoring in journalism with a concentration in news reporting and editing. She was a news editor at the IDS this fall and will serve as audience engagement editor in the spring. She is an Ernie Pyle Scholar.

Amy Wimmer-Schwarb, BAJ’98, NCAA, Student Publications Alumni Association

Amy Wimmer-Schwarb is president of the Student Publications Alumni Association. She is the editor of Champion magazine and the associate director of membership communication at the NCAA. She was the editor of Indianapolis Monthly magazine. She also was a long-time reporter for the St. Petersburg Times. She teaches news reporting as an adjunct instructor at The Media School.

The committee will begin accepting applications in early spring. The new publisher will take effect by fall 2018.

The public is invited to provide input on the search through an online form.